Forum
Help and support
 final mastering
Reply to topic Post new topic  
kelp7
User

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06 2003 11:15    
final mastering

How do people do the final mastering of their songs? I understand that sinc interpolation is the best quality for wave export, but do any of you use any further techniques? Compression maybe? or some EQing? How do you do it?
View user's journal Send private message
Sunbuster

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06 2003 13:27    

When I do my mastering (and keep in mind I'm a novice at this compared to some people on here), I export all channels/instruments separately, and then import them into a session in CEP2. There I apply compression, EQ, reverb (if needed) and so on. I also adjust all levels again, starting from the drums. Then I do a mixdown, which I import into a new session, where I apply a compressor and limiter (maybe some EQ) on the whole mix. Then I leave the tune for a week or so, come back with fresh ears and listen to it again, adjusting things I find disturbing.

And definetly export in sinc quality, no reason not to do, since it's not realtime anyway.
View user's journal Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kelp7
User

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06 2003 16:37    

Okay, cheers, I'll have to try and find out about CEP2 then...
Sunbuster

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06 2003 23:24    

http://www.syntrillium.com/cep/

there ya go Wink
kelp7
User

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07 2003 10:08    

Hi,

Yeah, I realised after I posted that last message the you were talking about Cool Edit Pro. Which I don't have unfortunately. Although I *do* have Cool Edit 96, but i'm not sure it can do what you are suggesting.

So, do you import all track WAV files into CEP2? And then somehow it can combine them all into a finished singular WAV file?

Ben
Sunbuster

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07 2003 13:46