Help and support
 Need MIDI Config Help
Reply to topic Post new topic  
technoid
Regular

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06 2003 10:14    
Need MIDI Config Help

Hey all,

I'm [somewhat] new around here, just haven't posted. I've been listening to tracker & demoscene music since the late 1980's starting with my C64 and am excited to try out MT.

I have a MIDI-Out-only piano keyboard attached to my PC. The soundcard is an "old" XGMIDI-superset Yamaha Waveforce192XG (1998?) and is hooked up via its DirectSound API. Right now the PC is a Super7 with an oc'd AMD K6-III+ at 600MHz and 512MB SDR100 memory.

For my computer setup, what does anyone think would be the best and optimized configuration with the MIDI inside MT2, i.e. number of buffers and buffersize (and other configs I don't know about)? Do I really need Keyjazz enabled or is that only with the PC keyboard? I would like to be able to input notes realtime on the MIDI keyboard without really sacrificing quality of any wave sample.

Speaking of wav's, what is the maximum resolution (bits per second) and size that I can use?

Also, will MT3 be able to export to MIDI format in some manner?

Thanks for any [musical] input!

~techie
View user's journal Send private message Send e-mail
Sunbuster

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06 2003 17:01    

afaik it doesn't harm to use the keyjazz feature when using a midi keyboard. I don't think it takes up much memory if that's your concern. So my suggestion is using it if you want, or don't use it.
As for how to set up buffers and so on, I think it's just a matter of trying settings out until your satisfied. Try with low settings first, but if you get cracks and pops, then try something higher. About the number of buffers, I don't know, I always use the max that my soundcard allows (which is 16). Instead I can use smaller buffersize (at 20 on my machine) which again gives me better presition in the oscilloscopes and the pattern window when playing a song.