Forum - Bending pitches
 Forum
Help and support
 Bending pitches
Reply to topic Post new topic  
Soldan

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12 2007 03:40    
Bending pitches

Firstly i want to say greetings to all you fellow musicians/composers out there that use madtraker. I think that traker scene type music is currently underapreciated in the world and some of you may well be the ones to change that.

Secondly I want to give props to Yannick for making such a versatile and easy to use program and also for making it shareware so that the masses can be introduced into electronic music composing.

I just registered madtraker about a week ago and I have been composing traks on it for the past 3 months. I have previously experimented with Reason and back in the day (way back in the day) I had Digitraker, although I never had the skill to use it properly. I also play metal guitar.

I have a few questions regarding how to acheive certain effects that involve a steady change in pitch.

The first effect I want to make is like a siren effect, I hear it all the time in techno/rave and also occasionaly other music as well.Is there an easy way to do this or is the only way by automating the pitch bend and such on the synthesizers?

The second effect is like when you do a slide on a guitar, similar to the siren effect I suppose.

The third effect is like a pitch bend on a guitar, where the note is near-instantly "bent" up anywhere from 1/4, to 3 steps. sometimes the note will be bent up and then back down and then up again etc in rapid succesion to make some pretty cool effects.
View user's journal Send private message
QBical

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12 2007 13:58    

You can use the 3xx command, start a note and where you want the slide to begin enter the note you want to slide to, and put the 3xx command on that note. The higher value you put in at the xx spot the faster the slide will be. I guess that covers all your questions since they can be achieved with the 3xx command.