MadTracker.org
Forum - Creating a modem-friendly audiostream
Log in Log in Profile Profile Search Memberlist Usergroups FAQ FAQ
 Forum
General discussion
 Creating a modem-friendly audiostream
Reply to topic Post new topic  
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Daxx909
Registered User


Joined: 04 May 2003
Location: Kelpen, NL
PostPosted: Wed May 21 2003 17:45    
Reply with quote

em22 wrote:
I could be sounding real nieve here, I really dont cater for people below 128kb now days. The price of a broadband connection (even though 128k and 256k are no longer considered broadband) has dropped so much, there doesn't seem to be any reason why someone who is committed to using the internet for their musical interests would have basic dial up. Dial up these days I find, is used by complete beginners.

IT IS *NOT* ABOUT THE *PRICE*!!!!!!!!! Evil or Very Mad

There are a huge number of places in the world where there is *NO* cable and *NO* dsl, *nothing*!

I've actually *bought* a do-it-yourself-ISDN-kit, just to get a few kbps extra. I would have to move to another city if I wanted cable. So yeah, it *is* about the price, but I'm not gonna buy a new house just to get cable. Razz


After all is said and done, more is said than done.
 Back to top
View user's journal Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Inge
Man-At-Arms


Joined: 04 May 2003
Location: Nieuw Lekkerland @ Holland
PostPosted: Wed May 21 2003 22:22    
Summary
Reply with quote

Let's see if I got things straight:

the bitrate (kb/s) is sum of the amount of khz, stereo and total bitrate. For example, a mono 44 khz 16 bit mp3 will have a higher quality than a stereo 44 khz 16 bit mp3, since only one audio channel instead of two is used. Right?

Inge


Care for a game of Monopoly?
 Back to top
View user's journal Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Pjo2000
Registered User


Joined: 05 May 2003
Location: Australia
PostPosted: Thu May 22 2003 01:43    
Reply with quote

Daxx909 wrote:

IT IS *NOT* ABOUT THE *PRICE*!!!!!!!!! Evil or Very Mad

There are a huge number of places in the world where there is *NO* cable and *NO* dsl, *nothing*!

I've actually *bought* a do-it-yourself-ISDN-kit, just to get a few kbps extra. I would have to move to another city if I wanted cable. So yeah, it *is* about the price, but I'm not gonna buy a new house just to get cable. Razz



That is the problem with the world... the companies want you to change for them.. when really they should change for you.

Broadband has exploded here is Australia in the last few years.. because we have pushed and pushed for every type to be available to everybody with class actions and boycotts etc etc.

Options are now:

1. Cable
2. DSL
3. Wireless DSL
4. Satellite 1 or 2-way
5. Wireless bluetooth in close city area's
6. Powerline broadband
7. ISDN (which isnt really broadband, but you know)


The clever bastards are now bypassing Australia's biggest Telco "TELSTRA" by running fibre optics through the gas pipes, to save digging holes to put fibre in aging areas.

And powerline broadband.. man what an idea.. plugging a specially designed modem into your power outlet and recieving broadband internet through it... now THAT is available to everyone.. you should push for it in your country or area that you live if it is already in your country.

There really is no reason to still use 56k these days, unless your broadband service has gone down.. and you desperatley need to get on the net.

thats what i think anyway.

pjo2000


http://www.projectoverkill.com
 Back to top
View user's journal Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
D Vibe
Registered User


Joined: 04 May 2003
Location: Sweden
PostPosted: Thu May 22 2003 10:40    
Re: Summary
Reply with quote

Inge wrote:
Let's see if I got things straight:

the bitrate (kb/s) is sum of the amount of khz, stereo and total bitrate. For example, a mono 44 khz 16 bit mp3 will have a higher quality than a stereo 44 khz 16 bit mp3, since only one audio channel instead of two is used. Right?

Inge


No? I don't think so! But if you use stereo instead of joint stereo it'll encode the two channels independent of each other I think..


http://www.dvibe.se
 Back to top
View user's journal Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mikx
Registered User


Joined: 05 May 2003
Location: Melbourne
PostPosted: Thu May 22 2003 18:21    
Reply with quote

thats exactly what i said in my post!! (the one that explains the difference between j-stereo and stereo)..

Rolling Eyes
-mikx
 Back to top
View user's journal Send private message Visit poster's website
Reply to topic Post new topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Page 2 of 2 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Copyright © 1998-2005 Yannick Delwiche
All rights reserved